Individuals: Householding and Shared Communications Part III: Split/Remove From Household
- The tutorial covers how to remove a contact from a household.
- Removing a contact from a household is done when two or more contacts used to live together and now no longer do.
- If a contact has died, there is no need to remove them from the household; you can simply mark them deceased (this will also remove any household salutations from both records). You can, optionally, also remove that person from the household, but you'll lose the history of the fact that the contacts used to live together.
- Keep in mind that only contacts that are marked as being in the same household can share a Home address, share email address(es), and share phone numbers. As soon as you remove a contact from a household, they will lose any shared communications (home address, email address, and/or phone numbers). If you want the contact to retain any of that information, you will need to manually re-input it onto the record after removing the person from the household.
- To get started, edit the record of one of the contact's in the household. If this is a spouse/partner or child relationship, you can initiate the Split Household flow by unchecking the "same household" checkbox on the Personal Info tab. For ALL relationships (including spouse/partner and child), you can also navigate to the Relationship tab and select Edit from the drop down to the right of contact name to edit any relationship.
- On the resulting Edit Relationship pop up screen, change the type of relationship, if applicable. For instance, in the example below, Aimee and Damien are splitting up. We would change Damien's relationship to Aimee to "ex-partner" since they are no longer partners. However, if Damien were Aimee's college-aged child who was moving out/moving to his own home, he'd still be Aimee's child and we wouldn't need to update the relationship type.
- Next, make sure the Part of Same Household toggle is set to "No."
- Next, if applicable, select which person will keep the home address/who is staying at the current home address by clicking the name/image/arrow. The other person will have the home address removed/erased from their record. This step only appears if the contacts are sharing a home address. If they are not sharing a home address, you will not see this graphic/image in the middle of the screen.
- Click the black Next button in the lower right-hand corner to proceed to the next screen.
- If there are children and/or other household members in the household, you'll be asked to indicate if they are staying in the household or leaving as well (if no other household members, you will not be presented with this screen. Skip to step #13).
- For children, there is the option to household them with parent #1, parent #2, or some other guardian (relative, foster care, state care, etc.). For all other relationships, you can indicate if the person will stay with person #1 or person #2. You MUST select a "Household With" option for every person shown. If the person is not going with either Person #1 or Person #2, then household them with one of the primary household members, finish the split household process, and then afterwards go through the same process to split that second household (for example: Gary, Beth, and Jamal are roommates sharing an apartment. Beth gets married and moves out; Gary and Jamal are no longer going to be roommates and are moving into their own apartments. To split this household, we would first split Beth out of the household and indicate that Jamal and Gary will stay in a household together. After splitting Beth out of the household, we would then repeat the steps in this tutorial to split Gary and Jamal into separate households).
- Once you have indicated the household status for every member of the household, click the black Next button in the lower right.
- On the last screen, verify the changes. You will see who is keeping the home address via the house icon and the listing of the home address (in this case, Aimee is keeping the home address) as well as which primary household member the other household members are going with. You'll also see each person's relationship.
- Verify all of the information is correct and then click the black Save button in the lower right hand corner.
- This will close the split household/edit relationship pop up window and return you to the contact record. If this was a spouse/partner relationship that is no longer in the same household, they will be removed from the contact's Personal Info tab (but will still appear on the Relationship tab). All contacts removed from a household will still appear on the Relationship tab. Splitting a relationship does not remove/delete any relationships.
- Any shared communications (home address, phone number, and/or emails) will be removed from the other person's record. Be sure to check the record of the person losing the shared communications after splitting the household and manually add in their contact information, if any.